top of page

Cardinal Choir

Presently the choral program is under the direction of Ginger Wheelock, Alfonso M. Gonzalez and Ruben Reyes. It continues a reputation of choral music excellence, while nurturing seven performing ensembles that not only compete, but provide entertainment and enrichment for the community. Both as choirs and as individuals, the 150 members of the choral program have consistently achieved Sweepstakes ratings at UIL Evaluations, as well as Texas All-State choir members, Best in Class Awards and Texas State Solo & Ensemble Outstanding Soloists. In addition to their participation in choir, the students are involved in many other campus and community activities including Band, Theatre, Mariachi, UIL Academics, Sports, Colorguard, Drill Team, Dance, ROTC and National Honor Society.


The Harlingen High School Choral Music Program started a tradition when the school opened over 100 years ago. Early plaques in the choir hall acknowledge Mrs. Grady Whittle. In the 1950s, a tradition of musical excellence started with Charles Nelson bringing in the first trophies still housed in the Cardinal Choir Hall. The 1960s brought renowned Texas choral director and TCDA founding member, Robert Irby, who hired Dianne Brumley to assist him in the late 1970s. Dianne continued the fine standards that had been set forth, through the 1980s and early 1990s and took the program to the next level - the first TMEA and ACDA Honor Choirs, in 1990 and 1991. Harlingen High School Choir has since performed at TMEA in 2010, 2015 and 2021. 

"It's the place we love the best, dear ole H-H-S"




Harlingen High School Alma Mater
2021 Virtual Choir Performance


Special Thanks to:
Mr. Ruben Reyes - Assistant Director, Accompanist, Orchestration arrangement & Videographer
Mr. Alfonso M. Gonzalez - Assistant Director & Sound Engineer


Notable State & National Performances of the 
Harlingen high school choir program


1990 TMEA Varsity Mixed Honor Choir
Dianne Brumley, Director

1991 ACDA Varsity Mixed Honor Choir
Dianne Brumley, Director

2010 TMEA Varsity TREBLE Honor Choir

2015 TMEA Varsity MEN'S Honor Choir
JOEL Lamar Cruz, Director

2021 TMEA Varsity TREBLE Honor Choir
ginger wheelock, Director

bottom of page